Letter to Minister Mr Morrison

24th February 2015

To Mr Morrison,

Earlier this month I sent a letter to the Prime Minister and, well to be frank, I got the brush off. My concerns in that letter were real. Now after reading that you intend to change Social Services so dramatically my concerns have turned into abject fear.
I won’t pass any review for the DSP under the new laws. I’ll be deemed able to work for 8 hours plus because my multiply illnesses will not be considered to adversely affect my ability to work, when the reality is the opposite. My illness is episodic. I have good days and bad days. There are many people with Fibromyalgia and/or Migraines that can work but there are many that are less fortunate. I cannot tell it to only happen on certain days so that I may work. It doesn’t work that way and it won’t for many other people living with episodic illness/disabilities.
I already live under the poverty line. Last week I had to find $50 to purchase compression stockings to reduce swelling/pain in my legs and feet. That meant less food in the cupboard. I need another a pair but due to financial constraints, I will have to forgo another as I have to buy uniforms and clothing for my daughter. If I’m lucky I’ll be able to get another pair in July. I cannot afford to go to physio, which could help me greatly. I’m not receiving any help from anyone, as I cannot afford to pay for the services I need. Most days are a struggle with pain and fatigue.
Under your new Social Services rules I’ll die. I won’t be the only one. There will be many of us that will not be able to live under the new reforms. We will die from one or many things. From starvation, malnutrition, from the elements (as we’ll have nowhere to live), lack of medical assistance (including medication, regular contact with health care professionals), suicide and the list goes on. This will be the reality. This is not something blown out of proportion but an actual fact. Those that live on DSP know this, those that care for them know this, disability service providers knows this. I refuse to believe the Government doesn’t realise that they will be signing many people’s death warrants. You just refuse to speak the truth. You have swept the facts under the carpet with all the other painful reform realities.
This isn’t a change for the better. This will alter everything that this great country once stood for. We once cared for those that are less fortunate, for the ill, for the old. We cared for those that through no fault of their own, needed support. Now I see a country stomping on those that are unable to stand up for themselves. We lay at your feet, begging for kindness, understanding but this Government is intent to use our bodies as the mortar to hold their rickety road to hell together.
I implore you, please do not go down this path of Social Services reform.
I want to live.
Regards,
(name withheld)

The original letter to the Prime Minister was also sent to Mr Morrison. There has been no reply reply.

One thought on “Letter to Minister Mr Morrison

Comments are closed.